New things

Dike Thelma
2 min readJun 15, 2022
New plants

Moving away from things we’ve grown to love, things we enjoy, and things that are comfortable and familiar requires bravery from us. It makes us unlearn what we are used to, and adjust ourselves to match what’s new.

Recently, I moved from Lagos to Abuja. Taking this step meant moving away from somewhere I called home, people and places that were very dear to me. But doing this also taught me that I could say things and actually do them.

It wasn’t all rosy and glamorous. The continuous stress from house hunting while working full-time, to the madness that came from Lagos landlords, agents, and movers. I was downright tired the first two weeks, no, scratch that; I was tired from the moment I made the decision to move. This tiredness sprung from the thoughts of how busy my January was going to be, and how I so dreaded it.

I want to be brave enough to try new things, to chase new convictions, to start a new career path, to move on from people and places, and to wholly welcome something new. Who knows what I’ll miss if I don’t boldly pursue and accept.

There are two sides to this coin, but I want to constantly choose bravery.

Like my friend, Dozie rightly said,

”If the old doesn’t serve us anymore, we can get new armor or at least replace parts of the old”

Thank you Ibukun, Chidinma, Dozie.

--

--

Dike Thelma

Growth and love | Product Design | Nature photography